University of Phoenix Reviews - Master's in Psychology (2022)

Reviews - Master's in Psychology

View reviews of all degrees >>

Emilio De Lisa

  • Reviewed: 7/6/2019
  • Degree: Psychology
  • Graduation Year: 2015

"I am rather puzzled by the negative or poor rating by many bloggers about this University. I transferred from another Canadian University to complete my Master's Program and found the coursework, professors and learning to be exceptional. Perhaps the least favourite was the teamwork requirement when other students were not as motivated or interested to put in the effort to get good grades. In hindsight, that experience compelled a higher learning principle which often plays itself out in the work force because people are less inclined to pull their weight. Aside from this, I thoroughly enjoyed this academic experience and the online resources and assistance from advisors were all excellent. I guess it is as good as you make it, in spite of the fact this is a private for-profit institution, with higher tuition than many other colleges or universities, I fail to see how this would make it a this a 'degree mill' or suggest that employers don't recognize this degree. There is nothing further from he truth my opinion and any employer who dismissed or trashed this degree is not an employer I would want to work for because they just demonstrated how narrow-minded and biased they can be and know very little about the quality of education from this university. I worked very hard in this graduate program and it was extremely difficult studying and working too. It helped to advance my career and I am now looking at Universities to enroll in the PsyD program in either Canada or USA given my grade point average. This degree also helped to advance my aspirations for private practice, so I would highly recommend this university to advance both education and career goals. It was a valuable learning experience and I am very proud of the success I achieved. It helped to build confidence in moving forward to the next level of my career with aspirations to enroll in the doctorate program. I am so grateful to be able to do this while working, because I simply could not afford to take the time off my full time job to attend in-person at a local university. I think it is a great alternative for people who are in a similar situation. From my vantage point, it was worth every cent I paid and it was a much better choice than many of the other on-line accredited universities. While a degree is just a piece of paper, this learning experience was the best I've ever had especially when you consider I completed my undergraduate degree at University of Toronto, ranked one of the top universities in the world. In spite of this ranking, I would gladly recommend University of Phoenix as even better as far as my learning experience because it forced me to perform at a much higher academic level. I would have likely returned to UOP if they offered a PsyD program because the professors were all very welcoming, accepting and very helpful with my coursework assignments and papers. They get a 5 star rating for sure. *****"

(Video) University of Phoenix: How Classes Work Online (assignments, tests, quiz, projects) | MBA Vlog #10

Kristien Taylor

  • Reviewed: 5/14/2017
  • Degree: Psychology
  • Graduation Year: 2017

"Despite the comments of certain students, University of Phoenix does and only except official transcripts from other highly accredited colleges and universities, such as the the University I came from, which is Saint Joseph's University. Every writing assignment that is done must follow the APA. Guidelines set by University of Phoenix, and majority of universities and colleges in the United States. University of phoenix has strict rules on plagiarism just like all the other colleges and universities in the United States. University of Phoenix is also highly accredited university. I was accepted to five major law schools in the Philadelphia area, due my transcripts from University of Phoenix and Saint joseph's University. Now I will say this to other students, just because you may had a miserable time at University of Phoenix don't push your experience on someone else . Because most likely you would've had the same miserable time at Harvard, university Pennsylvania, Penn State, Saint Joseph's University, temple university, Drexel University. Don't blame the school because you are a bad learner."

"Don't go to the University of Phoenix. If you are a good student you will have to do group assignments with truly mental students. The staff will not care if you are unhappy with a professor or are being bullied by other students. They will care when you need to pay them money. If you are stupid and want to buy a diploma, go to the University of Phoenix. I have quit the University of Phoenix and I am about to start at another university."

(Video) Let's talk about the MBA/Masters Program with Phoenix University!

Tracy

(Video) DO NOT ENTER- University of Phoenix RANT
  • Reviewed: 10/17/2015
  • Degree: Psychology
  • Graduation Year: 2017

"The University of Phoenix is a good school. Like any other, you get out of it what you put into it. Tons of reading and writing, so if you are an auditory learner, this may not be for you. I have to say that I would not have been able to attend a traditional classroom university because I have to work, and my current job requires about 60 hours a week. I attend online, at night, after working a long day, as do many other UOP students. I won't have too large a problem with student loans when I am finished, despite the fact that I did not qualify for ANY grants because I have managed my loans well. I truly feel this degree will help me better my employment situation and ultimately my life."

"Tell us about your college experience.My experience at the University of Phoenix has been a nightmare from the very beginning. When other bloggers say they are just "out for the money", they are not lying!! The only decent department has been the enrollment advisors. Everyone else ESPECIALLY the financial aid department is completely worthless. You try and get in touch with people, no one calls you back, they "sit on" forms they claim they have to have right away. My financial aid was supposed to release in June and it is now almost the middle of August and I STILL haven't received it. It is always the same excuse over and over and over again, and of course it is never "their fault". They are completely unorganized. You call one person in one department and get one answer and then you talk to a different person in the same department and get a completely different answer to your same question! Once you are enrolled, the academic advisors don't care about you, the instructors don't instruct they just pile work on so they can collect their pay check!Would you get the same degree if you could start over?Absolutely not! It was only after starting at the University of Phoenix that I happened to come across a couple of blogs written by a few students who said because the University's Master's program in Psychology is so general that they transferred to Walden University to get a more "specialized" degree in counseling and then for whatever God forsaken reason they came back to UoP to pursue a different degree. Bottom line: their Master's Degree in Psychology will leave you jobless with a bunch of loans to repay.What advice can you offer other students?To any student undergraduate or graduate, do your research before you just "pick" a school. I wish I had done mine. I mainly picked UoP because I had seen their advertising so much, and of course their website makes it look like it is the best online school out there. However, any school online or on campus should provide support from start to finish, not just until they get you enrolled and get your money. Go online, look at reviews, talk to people who have gone to the school you are considering, but by all means DO NOT choose University of Phoenix or you will be as they say, "up a river without a paddle"...."

Hillari

  • Reviewed: 11/5/2012
  • Degree: Psychology
  • Graduation Year: 2014

"I have been attending UoP for a few months. I completed my first two classes Oct.22 2012. I really enjoy this school. Tuition is high, but I am hoping that it will give a great start off with my career.My financial advisor has been very helpful. My academic advisor has aslso been very helpful. I started to transfer to a different school; due to the fact tuition is so high.I have decided to stay at UoP. The classes aren't as easy as what some people think. It is actually a good challenge against yourself. I really enjoy being a student at UoP. I have been thinking about moving somewhere, so I can attend classes on campus."

(Video) Graduate School at The University Of Phoenix: My Experience!

FAQs

Is University of Phoenix degree respected? ›

A respected institution of higher learning

The Higher Learning Commission, an independent institution that sends auditors to vet universities in 19 states, has accredited University of Phoenix since 1978. The Higher Learning Commission has recognized the quality of University of Phoenix's: Financial performance.

Which University is best for doing masters in psychology? ›

Top MA in Psychology Universities in India 2022
  • IGNOU Delhi - Indira Gandhi National Open University. ...
  • JMI New Delhi - Jamia Millia Islamia. ...
  • MSU Baroda - Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda. ...
  • Christ University, Bangalore. ...
  • LPU Jalandhar - Lovely Professional University. ...
  • BHU Varanasi - Banaras Hindu University.

Is a Masters in psych worth it? ›

The good news is that a master's in psychology can be a valuable asset in your job search. This degree can be useful for employment opportunities in a variety of fields, from family services to behavioral counseling and beyond, and it may open up salary opportunities that you otherwise may not have had.

Is University of Phoenix well regarded? ›

University of Phoenix is ranked #331-440 out of 443 National Universities. Schools are ranked according to their performance across a set of widely accepted indicators of excellence.

Is University of Phoenix losing its accreditation? ›

Is the University of Phoenix accredited? Yes, the University of Phoenix is accredited through the Higher Learning Commission. This is the same accrediting body that oversees brick-and-mortar schools within a 19-state region. The current accreditation is good through the 2021-2022 academic year.

Did University of Phoenix defrauded students? ›

FTC sends settlement payments to University of Phoenix Students. The FTC is sending payments totaling nearly $50 million to more than 147,000 University of Phoenix (UOP) students who may have been lured by allegedly deceptive advertisements.

Which is better MA psychology or MSc psychology? ›

Masters in Psychology degrees can take the form of either a Master of Arts (MA) or Master of Science (MSc). An MSc degree is likely to be more focused on research and the sciences, while an MA may be more focused on the arts and humanities aspects of psychology.

What should I do after MA in psychology? ›

After finishing your MA/MSc in Psychology, you can proceed to become a registered psychologist. For that, you'll need to do an additional two-year MPhil course in Psychology from an institute recognised by the Rehabilitation Council of India (RCI). This is a purely professional course that entails hands-on training.

What is the number one university for psychology? ›

Stanford University

What is the difference between MA and MS in psychology? ›

The two most common types of psychology master's degrees are the Master of Arts (M.A.) and the Master of Science (M.S.). An M.A. degree may indicate a stronger liberal arts focus, while an M.S. usually means there's a stronger concentration on research and the sciences.

Is it hard to get into grad school for psychology? ›

Admission to PhD programs in clinical psychology is very competitive. Ratios of 300 applicants to 8 positions are common (though perhaps 10-15 people would have to be accepted to fill the 8 slots; some who are accepted decide to go elsewhere, or enter a different kind of graduate or professional program ).

Can I do a Masters in Psychology without a psychology degree? ›

Am I eligible for a Masters in Psychology? Most university entry requirements ask for at least a 2:2 undergraduate degree to enrol on an MSc Psychology. This can be in any subject – including a psychology degree that wasn't accredited by the BPS.

What is University of Phoenix known for? ›

The largest for-profit school in the United States, Phoenix was also one of the country's biggest university systems. In addition to its online program, it operated more than 200 campuses and learning centres worldwide, with its first foreign campus opening in Vancouver in 1998.

Is the University of Phoenix an accredited University? ›

University of Phoenix has been continually accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), hlcommission.org since 1978.

Is the University of Phoenix accredited by the Department of education? ›

University Accreditation

Currently, University of Phoenix is regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, part of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. HLC is one of six regional accrediting bodies in the country that's recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

How did University of Phoenix mislead students? ›

In a 2019 lawsuit, the FTC alleged the University of Phoenix lured consumers in with ads that falsely touted – among other things – job opportunities for its students with national employers like AT&T, Yahoo!, Microsoft, Twitter, and the American Red Cross.

What is the University of Phoenix acceptance rate? ›

Phoenix- Arizona is a for-profit university located in Tempe, Arizona in the Phoenix Area. It is a large institution with an enrollment of 69,408 undergraduate students. The Phoenix- Arizona acceptance rate is 100%.

Can I transfer my University of Phoenix credits? ›

As a general rule, most colleges and universities only accept transfer credits from regionally accredited institutions. The University of Phoenix meets that basic standard, meaning it is possible to transfer from the University of Phoenix to other regionally accredited schools.

Why is the University of Phoenix in a lawsuit? ›

The university allegedly used misleading advertising campaigns that falsely gave potential students the impression that the school had partnered with companies including AT&T, Microsoft, Yahoo!, Twitter, and the American Red Cross in order to provide students with employment opportunities after graduation, according to ...

Has University of Phoenix closed? ›

The University of Phoenix will close all of its physical campuses, except for one in Phoenix, by 2025, according to the Sacramento Business Journal.

Is University of Phoenix a Corinthian Colleges? ›

Corinthian Colleges' Schools

Corinthian Colleges operated Everest, which included the Everest Institute in New York, Everest College in Phoenix, Arizona and Everest University in Florida as well as Everest University Online.

Why do a Masters in Psychology? ›

A Masters in Psychology will give you plenty of transferrable skills, as well as the specialist knowledge to pursue a career in psychological practice or academic research.

Is MA psychology and MSc psychology same? ›

There isn't much difference between a MA and MSc degree in psychology, at least in India. You can pursue MSc even after BA and MA after BSc in psychology. It is said that MSc focuses more on the cognitive and research aspect while MA approaches the subject more as a social science.

How many years is Masters in Psychology? ›

For motivated students, a master's in psychology program can take anywhere from two to four years to complete. While this is a more significant time commitment, many master's degree in psychology students are prepared for this after completing their undergraduate.

What is the highest paying job with a Masters in psychology? ›

Psychiatrist. Psychiatry is one of the highest-paying fields tied to psychology. However, salaries can vary considerably within this field depending upon your specialty area, where you are employed, and the type of work you perform.

Is MA psychology difficult? ›

According to students studying psychology, there is quite a lot of reading that you need to do. Psychology is one of the more difficult degrees and many of your assignments will require you to cite your sources and will require you to back up a lot of the arguments that you have.

Can I get job after doing masters in psychology? ›

MA Psychology job scope is available for graduates in both the private and the public sectors. Some of the popular roles that the students start with are School Counselor, HR Manager, Mental Health Counselor, Principal/Headmaster, Sr.

Which field of psychology is best in USA? ›

Psychiatrist. Psychiatry is one of the most common career paths for psychology majors. Psychiatrists are physicians who specialize in mental health. Like any medical doctor, they diagnose and treat illness through different strategies.

Does University ranking matter for psychology? ›

Rankings matter because it affects the quality of teaching and research at that university. there sure isn't a one-to-one correlation, some unis might be really good at teaching which aren't highly ranked.

Where is the best place to study psychology? ›

Harvard University

Can you be a counselor with a Masters in psychology? ›

Licensure for Counseling Psychologists

Licensing requirements vary by state, but most require a doctorate. Others expect a master's degree and two years of supervised practice.

How many years for PhD after Masters in psychology? ›

Steps to Become a Clinical Psychologist
Steps to Become a Clinical PsychologistNumber of Years
Earn a master's in psychology followed by a PhD or PsyD in clinical psychology, or enroll directly in a PhD or PsyD in clinical psychology program4-8 years of full-time enrollment
2 more rows

Can I be a psychologist without a PhD? ›

Neither a BSc or MSc will cut it. Nor will a PhD as it is a research degree and not a vocational degree. You essentially need a doctorate (3 years) to practice Psychology, whether it be Clinical/Forensic/Educational. You can, however, be an assistant psychologist with a BSc.

What GPA do you need for a masters in psychology? ›

According to the APA, the median GPA for applicants accepted into master's degree programs is roughly 3.5; doctoral programs 3.65.

What is a good GPA for psych grad school? ›

The mean of successful applicants to PhD programs in psychology, on the 4.0 scale, is 3.6 overall and 3.7 in psychology courses; for Master's programs it is 3.4 overall and 3.5 in psychology courses. The GPA should be, at minimum , typically 3.0 or higher.

What GPA do you need for grad school in psychology? ›

Generally, graduate schools in psychology want to see an average 3.0 cumulative GPA. While many graduate schools in psychology will not consider a student with less than a 3.0 GPA, competitive GRE scores override a lower GPA.

Does a Masters degree pay off? ›

Nearly two-thirds (61%) of graduates with a master's degree will earn more than the median bachelor's degree holder, according to the CEW. It's even higher for doctoral (73%) and professional (83%) degree holders. Having a higher degree could also strengthen your ability to stay employed during economic downturns.

Can I become a therapist with a psychology degree? ›

To become a psychotherapist, one should first earn a bachelor's degree in psychology or a related field. From there, one can start earning their master's degree in psychotherapy. While earning their master's degree, one will start accruing relevant clinical experience necessary for licensing.

Can any graduate do masters in psychology? ›

The basic eligibility for pursuing admission to MSc Psychology program, candidates must hold a bachelor degree in any Psychology courses from a recognized university with an aggregate of at least 50% marks. MSc Psychology Distance Education is available in colleges like IGNOU, IMTS Institute, Jain University etc.

Is University of Phoenix degree respected? ›

A respected institution of higher learning

The Higher Learning Commission, an independent institution that sends auditors to vet universities in 19 states, has accredited University of Phoenix since 1978. The Higher Learning Commission has recognized the quality of University of Phoenix's: Financial performance.

Is University of Phoenix hard to get in? ›

It is a large institution with an enrollment of 170,144 undergraduate students. The University of Phoenix Online acceptance rate is 100%.

How hard is it to get into the University of Phoenix? ›

The acceptance rate of the University of Phoenix is 100% the students who wish to get is should meet with there minimum admissions requirements, like providing with the high school transcript with the minimum GPA requirement, there may be a requirement to provide with the SAT/ACT score according to the program one ...

Is University of Phoenix well regarded? ›

University of Phoenix is ranked #331-440 out of 443 National Universities. Schools are ranked according to their performance across a set of widely accepted indicators of excellence.

What GPA do you need to get into University of Phoenix? ›

GPA requirements

Must have a cumulative GPA of 2.5 (on a 4.0 scale) as shown on the undergraduate degree posted transcript.

Can I become a teacher with a degree from University of Phoenix? ›

At University of Phoenix, for example, the Graduate Alternative Pathway/Secondary Education Certificate prepares candidates for teacher licensure as a secondary school teacher.

Is University of Phoenix losing its accreditation? ›

Is the University of Phoenix accredited? Yes, the University of Phoenix is accredited through the Higher Learning Commission. This is the same accrediting body that oversees brick-and-mortar schools within a 19-state region. The current accreditation is good through the 2021-2022 academic year.

Did University of Phoenix defrauded students? ›

FTC sends settlement payments to University of Phoenix Students. The FTC is sending payments totaling nearly $50 million to more than 147,000 University of Phoenix (UOP) students who may have been lured by allegedly deceptive advertisements.

What platform does University of Phoenix use? ›

What we can now confirm at e-Literate is that the “learning platform” selected by the University of Phoenix is Blackboard Learn Ultra. This is the cloud-based redesign of Learn that Michael and I have described in several posts.

Is the University of Phoenix an accredited University? ›

University of Phoenix is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (https://hlcommission.org), which oversees accreditation in 19 states. The Higher Learning Commission has a variety of requirements for its accreditation standards, including: Academic rigor.

Can I become a teacher with a degree from University of Phoenix? ›

At University of Phoenix, for example, the Graduate Alternative Pathway/Secondary Education Certificate prepares candidates for teacher licensure as a secondary school teacher.

Is the University of Phoenix accredited by the Department of Education? ›

University Accreditation

Currently, University of Phoenix is regionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, part of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. HLC is one of six regional accrediting bodies in the country that's recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

Is Umuc a real college? ›

Effective July 1, 2019, UMUC's name officially changed to University of Maryland Global Campus. This name change has no effect on our status as a respected state university and member of the University System of Maryland.

What is University of Phoenix known for? ›

The largest for-profit school in the United States, Phoenix was also one of the country's biggest university systems. In addition to its online program, it operated more than 200 campuses and learning centres worldwide, with its first foreign campus opening in Vancouver in 1998.

What is the University of Phoenix acceptance rate? ›

Phoenix- Arizona is a for-profit university located in Tempe, Arizona in the Phoenix Area. It is a large institution with an enrollment of 69,408 undergraduate students. The Phoenix- Arizona acceptance rate is 100%.

What GPA do you need to get into University of Phoenix? ›

GPA requirements

Must have a cumulative GPA of 2.5 (on a 4.0 scale) as shown on the undergraduate degree posted transcript.

How much do online professors make at University of Phoenix? ›

The estimated total pay for a Full-time Faculty, Online at University of Phoenix is $87,357 per year. This number represents the median, which is the midpoint of the ranges from our proprietary Total Pay Estimate model and based on salaries collected from our users. The estimated base pay is $82,418 per year.

How much does University of Phoenix pay instructors? ›

Average University of Phoenix Faculty yearly pay in the United States is approximately $44,458, which is 18% below the national average.

What is the tuition for University of Phoenix Online? ›

Can I transfer my University of Phoenix credits? ›

As a general rule, most colleges and universities only accept transfer credits from regionally accredited institutions. The University of Phoenix meets that basic standard, meaning it is possible to transfer from the University of Phoenix to other regionally accredited schools.

Is University of Phoenix a Corinthian Colleges? ›

Corinthian Colleges' Schools

Corinthian Colleges operated Everest, which included the Everest Institute in New York, Everest College in Phoenix, Arizona and Everest University in Florida as well as Everest University Online.

What platform does University of Phoenix use? ›

What we can now confirm at e-Literate is that the “learning platform” selected by the University of Phoenix is Blackboard Learn Ultra. This is the cloud-based redesign of Learn that Michael and I have described in several posts.

Are online degrees respected? ›

According to CNN, 83 percent of the hiring executives in their survey said that an online degree is as credible as one earned through a traditional on-campus program, but factors such as accreditation, quality of graduates and the name of the institution were chief among things they considered to make an online degree ...

How good is a degree from UMUC? ›

UMGC Recognized as One of the Nation's Top Colleges in Newsweek's First-Ever Ranking of Online Schools. Adelphi, Md. (November 16, 2021)—University of Maryland Global Campus (UMGC) was ranked #21 among 150 top colleges in Newsweek's first-ever survey of online schools.

How can you tell a fake degree? ›

Here's how to verify academic credentials:
  1. Contact the school. Most college registrars will confirm dates of attendance and graduation, as well as degrees awarded and majors, upon request. ...
  2. Research the school on the Internet. ...
  3. Ask the applicant for proof of the degree and the school's accreditation.
2 Jan 2005

Videos

1. University of Phoenix - My Experience
(Megan)
2. University of Phoenix Review
(Carrisa's Box)
3. University of Phoenix course review
(Operator77788 Bay Area)
4. University of Phoenix Review and Experience
(NoOrdinaryJulia)
5. UNIVERSITY OF PHOENIX CRIMINAL JUSTICE OVERVIEW THE PROGRAMS
(LEADERSHIP)
6. Best Online Psychology Degree Programs (SNHU vs Purdue Global vs Grand Canyon vs Capella University)
(Test Prep Insight)

Top Articles

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Rev. Porsche Oberbrunner

Last Updated: 12/29/2022

Views: 6011

Rating: 4.2 / 5 (73 voted)

Reviews: 88% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Rev. Porsche Oberbrunner

Birthday: 1994-06-25

Address: Suite 153 582 Lubowitz Walks, Port Alfredoborough, IN 72879-2838

Phone: +128413562823324

Job: IT Strategist

Hobby: Video gaming, Basketball, Web surfing, Book restoration, Jogging, Shooting, Fishing

Introduction: My name is Rev. Porsche Oberbrunner, I am a zany, graceful, talented, witty, determined, shiny, enchanting person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.